One Year Ago in Spain by Evelyn Skye

Check out this book on Goodreads: One Year Ago in Spain https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/201102261-one-year-ago-in-spain

First off, thank you to Netgalley, Evelyn Skye, and Random House Publishing group- Ballantine for an advanced reader copy of this book!

I read Evelyn Skye’s first duology a couple years ago. It was a young adult fantasy set in Russia, The Crown’s Game. I really enjoyed it so when I realized she was coming out with this romantic comedy, I wanted to check it out!

I did really enjoy this story! I dropped the rating down to four stars, however, as there was a LOT of cursing. And also some spice, although it did not go into super detail.

The story itself is about a girl, Claire, and her boyfriend, Matias. He is in a terrible accident, and she must try to help him by convincing his soul to go back into his body. All while she’s staying in Madrid, Spain, where he grew up.

While I personally don’t believe in astral projection, or souls leaving the body to wander the earth, this was still a really well done story. The characters both developed throughout the story, remembering why they fell for each other in the first place. Both were also willing to get out of their comfort zone which is so important in any relationship.

I also appreciated how the author would use Spanish, but then give some translation in the text for those of us who cannot speak it fluently. I’ve seen this done well and I’ve seen it done awkwardly, she did a great job at making it flow with the writing.

The other thing I really appreciated was getting to go on a tour of Madrid with Claire. Hearing about the different sights and activities was really cool. I love learning about different cultures, and while there wasn’t a ton of that in this book, it is still something I appreciate.

Published by yodareads12

My name is Jennifer Bishop and I absolutely love reading! (And Star Wars in case the username wasn't a big enough hint 😉). I have been reading since I was 2 years old and will be turning 29 this summer. I honestly don't recall ever not having a book in hand! My favorite genres are Sci-fi and Fantasy, but I do also appreciate good Young Adult, Thriller, and Historical Fiction. As far as Romance, I pretty much only like Romantic Comedies with preferably no sequel scenes. One of the biggest things about me is that I have been a believer/Follower of Jesus Christ since I was 11. This is a huge part of who I am, but I will never let this be a reason for me to be judgemental. We are all sinners and all do stupid stuff. Instead, I always try to shower others with love. Something else about me is that I am big on reading underrepresented authors. It saddens me how many great authors are our there that just don't have the connections/money to get their name out there! Many of my favorite authors are underrepresented/unknown. I really hope you enjoy my posts! Please feel free to comment with questions or requests! Obviously I can't make everyone happy, and that's not why I do this anyway! But I do enjoy connecting with other readers!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started